Movies and Scores

Armand and his ace team of actors and technicians has finished shooting the dailies for Princess Zolara. I’ll start scoring them very soon. Probably today. I’m getting excited all over again.

.

Sure it’s only been a few days since I’ve cracked open this particular project, but it’s nice to come back to something that is so fresh and new and exciting to me. I loathe to call it “work”, because I’m having such fun on this project. Everyone on the project has such a great attitude and responds so well to each other in terms of support and creativity, that it feels more like just a bunch of buddies doing something fun. Which, I get, was Armand’s intention all along. Well, goal achieved, Good Sir.

.

I have yet to look at the dailies, but when I do get the chance to see them, I’ll be working on giving emotional depth the the piece. A scene might need loneliness or rage; neither hard to do per se. The problem, if it can be said to be a problem, is in doing it in such a short amount of time, both in the project and on the screen. We only have 2 weeks to complete this short, and the film itself is only 5 minutes.

Having only 2 weeks to work on the project is a curse and a blessing. On one side, it keeps me focused and diligently working every day for the next week, or however long I have before music is due. Longer projects have a tendency to lose momentum; this one won’t. On the other hand, 1 week to score isn’t much time. Sure it’s only 5 minutes (we’ll talk about the issues that raises later), but come 1 week, no matter what I have actually completed and polished, I’m done. That’s it. No time to go back and edit. When it’s “done” it’s done.

Let’s talk about the brevity of the film. 5 minutes seems like a short time, and it is, agreed. But, often times, these quick projects present the toughest challenges. When I have 3 or 5 minutes to convey an emotion i can create music that builds and takes the listener on a journey. But in a film that is 5 minutes in totality, I may only have 30 seconds to do the same thing. Likely I’ll have less.  So every idea has to be condensed into it’s purest form and presented without preamble. This isn’t impossible, but it is definitely a deviation from my typical method of easing the listener into the emotion I want him/her to experience.

Challenges are what make all this worthwhile to me. Perhaps I should say, it’s one of the things. If it were easy, I’d have lost interest some time ago. All I can do is forge ahead on each project, keeping in mind the obstacles, and devise clever solutions around, over, or even right through them.

Leave a Reply

